Anonymizing, Step I: The Easy Way

Open topics on the Contest itself, to include results-watch threads and other items of note.
Martin L. Shoemaker

Anonymizing, Step I: The Easy Way

Postby Martin L. Shoemaker » Sat Sep 03, 2011 4:45 pm

Introduction

In recent threads on the forum, we have discussed KD's concerns that people were accidentally leaving identifying information in what are supposed to be anonymous submissions. KD currently (September 2011) is being forgiving on this subject while we all work out the kinks of electronic submissions; but at some point, this identifying information could disqualify your story!

Since I have a lot of experience with MS Word and since I spent a decade writing and teaching software design courses, I decided I could easily write a tutorial on how to anonymize your story using MS Word 2010 and Windows 7. With Brad's encouragement, I'm making a two-part post that I hope will help some of you.

Please note: I can only help you with Word 2010 under Windows 7. If I dig through my DVDs, I could find older versions of Word and Windows, and I could install them on a virtual machine. I could also download and install OpenOffice and Linux. I could even borrow a copy of MacOffice and a Mac. But to do all of that, I would have to quote you my hourly rate and an estimate of how many hours it would take, plus a nuisance tax because I hate that kind of work. As much as I want to be helpful here, I can only help with the tools I have. Some of these instructions will work with other versions of Word and Windows. Heck, for all I know, some of them will work with OpenOffice and Linux! But I'm only claiming they'll work on Word 2010 and Windows 7 -- and even there, sometimes weird stuff happens.