Formatting for WotF Contest

Open topics on the Contest itself, to include results-watch threads and other items of note.
Randy Hulshizer

Formatting for WotF Contest

Postby Randy Hulshizer » Mon Oct 05, 2015 4:37 am

Good morning forum friends. I realize this question might have already been answered somewhere in this forum, but I have not been able to find it. I am relatively new to the contest, and I have two rather simple questions regarding manuscript formatting. I refer to the official rules, which state:

Entries submitted electronically must be double-spaced and must include the title and page number on each page, but not the author’s name. Electronic submissions will separately include the author’s legal name, pen name if applicable, address, telephone number, e-mail address and approximate word count.

There seem to be some ambiguities here, but I might just be overthinking this. Here are my questions:

1) In standard manuscript format (e.g., William Shunn), the first page does not include a page number (of course). But the rules state that a page number should be included on each page. Should I take this literally and place a page number on the first page? That seems a little strange, but I'd like to hear from others as to what they think.

2) Normally, I would place my approximate word count in the upper right corner of the first page. However, the rules state that approximate word count will be reported separately. Of course (and I think someone else has already mentioned this), there is no field in the online entry form in which to enter this information. Any suggestions here?

Thanks so much to everyone here at the forum! I hope one day to meet some of you! wotf007
Track Record: R X 3; HM X 3

disgruntledpeony

Re: Formatting for WotF Contest

Postby disgruntledpeony » Mon Oct 05, 2015 5:11 am