If I get a fourth professional sale while I'm waiting for the results, do I get disqualified?

Open topics on the Contest itself, to include results-watch threads and other items of note.
Liverloin

If I get a fourth professional sale while I'm waiting for the results, do I get disqualified?

Postby Liverloin » Sat May 20, 2017 12:39 pm

So, I'm new to writing in English but somehow I got lucky and all three shorts I submitted were published. Two professional sales (Strange Horizons, and Pseudopod - just sold today actually), and one semi-professional sale (Solarcide, pretty nice magazine).

I'm trying my luck with WOTF, but hypothetically what happens if, say, I squeeze my story in time for June's deadline but sell two shorts in July to professional publications? Do I get disqualified?

Bonus question deleted, as it could potentially help identify my story and disqualify me.

(Sorry for any spelling/grammar mistakes, I'm in a noisy place).
Last edited by Liverloin on Sat May 20, 2017 1:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Jeremyteg

Re: If I get a fourth professional sale while I'm waiting for the results, do I get disqualified?

Postby Jeremyteg » Sat May 20, 2017 1:13 pm

Based on the rules as written, you are disqualified from entering after your fourth professional short story sale. If you make a fourth sale while waiting for results, your current entry still qualifies, but you will be disqualified from entering again.

Liverloin

Re: If I get a fourth professional sale while I'm waiting for the results, do I get disqualified?

Postby Liverloin » Sat May 20, 2017 1:17 pm

Just as I thought, just wanted to make sure. Thanks, man!

EDIT: Also, congrats on getting accepted in Beneath Ceaseless Skies. I love that magazine.

Jeremyteg

Postby Jeremyteg » Sat May 20, 2017 1:22 pm

You're welcome! And thanks wotf007. BCS is probably my favorite short fiction magazine right now, so I'm pretty excited. Congrats on your successes as well!

disgruntledpeony