writing books

Specifics about craft, talent, technique, etc.
yoyo123

writing books

Postby yoyo123 » Wed Nov 25, 2015 6:44 am

Anyone have a favorite? I'm sure they have limited usefulness if you already know what you're doing, but as a relative beginner, I find I'm in need of something to help me along. I can't afford a class at the moment, so this seems a good place to start. Suggestions? I'm looking for something that focuses on improving mechanics.

kentagions

Re: writing books

Postby kentagions » Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:49 am

http://www.writerswrite.com/bookreviews/how-to-write-science-fiction-fantasy-110125

At the above address you'll find a fairly good review of Orson Scott Card's How to Write Science Fiction & Fantasy. I picked it up second hand for $7.00.

OSC presents the marvelous world of speculative fiction with conversational ease. I felt like I was listening to my favorite uncle on a walk around a wooded lake. Chapters 3 and 4 will interest you particularly as they deal respectively with story construction and mechanical problems unique to F&SF. All concepts are explained clearly and with examples from further reading (Excerpts are included, but reading the works he mentions is instructional and recommended).

It is a short book that avoids the self aggrandizing asides written into the instructional books of some other successful authors. The language is ultimately accessible and highly informative at once, NEVER like a graduate level text. After finding it, I stopped looking.

Kent

orbivillein

Postby orbivillein » Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:43 am

Damon Knight, Creating Short Fiction, a primer of prose mechanics. If any book contains comprehensive prose composition method review, spans gaps, and beginner, intermediate, to advanced prose methods and concepts, this is close. This might be a first place to start and build from. Say hello to Fred.

A sample about "Plot."