Dialogue

Specifics about craft, talent, technique, etc.
RSchibler

Dialogue

Postby RSchibler » Sun Apr 16, 2017 6:33 pm

I've been digging through every post on here for a few months now as well as reading everything I can get my hands on about writing across the internet. I've got a few books on writing in the mail but I live overseas and have to wait for shipping. Something I've run into a lot is the concept of simplifying your writing and making sure that every sentence is as useful as possible. "Tighten your prose." Well enough- something I can work on.

How does that work with dialogue? Based on a post here, I did a CTL+F for "that" in my short story for Q2 and sheesh - 78 instances. I was able to remove a lot of them, but many of them appeared in character dialogue and I hesitated to remove those because that's how people talk. They use unnecessary words, constantly. Does that matter, for readability? Do we want our fictional characters to sound like real people? Or do we expect them to read more concisely? I did a glance through of my bookshelf and found a mixture of both, for what it's worth.

I'm curious what the minds rolling around here have to say!
Trying to refute entropy with words.

Vol34: Q2 R, Q3 HM, Q4 R
Vol35: pending

Blogging about my writing journey at: http://www.rebeccaetreasure.com/blog

disgruntledpeony

Re: Dialogue

Postby disgruntledpeony » Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:04 pm

I would say that the goal is to have dialogue that feels natural while still cutting out unnecessary bits--the umm's, awkward pauses, and needless word repetitions. Different characters should have different speech patterns, so the dialogue doesn't feel wooden. Sometimes keeping a particular awkwardness of speech can distinguish one character from another, but it's important not to go overboard with that either.