Real Life Research Helpers

Specifics about craft, talent, technique, etc.
Shockhawk

Real Life Research Helpers

Postby Shockhawk » Sun May 24, 2020 5:08 pm

Greeting Writers -

Most of us either need to research or interview expert individuals at some point, right? So I had this crazy thought after reading a few writer bios from the WOTF volume I’m currently reading... why don’t we help each other get first hand knowledge by gleaming it from each other?

In volume XXVIII one of the writers bio says he’s a mechanical designer in the aerospace/defense industry. Wow wouldn’t this person be able to help answer first hand questions directly related to his field which might help us with our stories?

So I thought why don’t we start a thread where writers offer our field knowledge and expertise?

I think it’s a great idea so I’ll go first and if anyone has a question in any field I know a lot or a little about I’ll gladly answer any questions I can:

I was a retirement accountant for a 3rd party administrator for 8 years, owned a retail hobby shop for 3 years, was a loan processor at a community bank for 2 years, was a police officer for about a year, and currently work at a state dmv... there. Any questions anyone has about those careers for their stories feel free to ask away and I promise to respond with as helpful answer as I can.

No degrees besides peace officers license in the great state of Texas.

Anyone else?
Vol 37 - X, R, R, P

Pumpkin

Re: Real Life Research Helpers

Postby Pumpkin » Mon May 25, 2020 5:31 am

Hey hawk, this is a wonderful idea!

I can offer knowledge about life across the pond, I suppose. Ask me about England or schooling in England, heck, even what we eat in England. If any of your characters came from this side of the ocean, I’ll help you work on their linguistics!